PHP Error when posting replies

Report Forum issues. Request forum changes, or report problems.
Sir Jerric
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2015 2:08 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 37 times

PHP Error when posting replies

Post by Sir Jerric » Sun Mar 10, 2019 8:37 pm

Code: Select all

[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions_messenger.php on line 506: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 1836: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3268)
Seen this more than once now, instead of being routed to a acceptance page or back to the original thread looking at the new post.

The post is still going through, although the URL also looked interesting by the time I got done.

Code: Select all

http://www.steelministry.com/posting.php?mode=reply&f=177&t=1344#preview#preview#preview#preview
Using Firefox 65.0.2 on Windows 10; not that I expect such should matter on a PHP error.
Edit: This post creating the thread worked fine.
Herowannabe
Board Ruler
Board Ruler
Posts: 3174
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 12:17 pm
Has thanked: 358 times
Been thanked: 194 times

Re: PHP Error when posting replies

Post by Herowannabe » Sun Mar 10, 2019 10:33 pm

I’ve noticed the same thing and have notified the other Admins (who know much more about coding than I do) via a group PM we’re all in. Claincy said he’d try to take a look at it, but it sounds like Tecslicer is really the one we need.

I get the same error on MacOs and iOS, both using Safari. Like you said, I don’t think it’s anything to do with the browser, it’s something in the PBP code itself.
Herowannabe
Board Ruler
Board Ruler
Posts: 3174
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 12:17 pm
Has thanked: 358 times
Been thanked: 194 times

Re: PHP Error when posting replies

Post by Herowannabe » Sun Mar 10, 2019 10:34 pm

And you’re right, I’m not getting the error in this thread, but I am in the other ones I’ve tried. Hmm...
Sir Jerric
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2015 2:08 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: PHP Error when posting replies

Post by Sir Jerric » Tue Mar 12, 2019 1:30 pm

And now I have a more serious version: I cannot reply in viewtopic.php?f=176&t=1347

(Extra line breaks added for readability)

Code: Select all

[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/s9e/text-formatter/src/Renderer.php on line 19: DOMDocument::loadXML(): Extra content at the end of the document in Entity, line: 16

Fatal error: Uncaught TypeError: Argument 1 passed to s9e\TextFormatter\Renderers\PHP::at() must be an instance of DOMNode, null given, called in /homepages/36/d234420808/htdocs/mistborn/vendor/s9e/text-formatter/src/Renderers/PHP.php on line 130 and defined in /homepages/36/d234420808/htdocs/mistborn/vendor/s9e/text-formatter/src/Renderers/PHP.php:29 
Stack trace: 
#0 /homepages/36/d234420808/htdocs/mistborn/vendor/s9e/text-formatter/src/Renderers/PHP.php(130): s9e\TextFormatter\Renderers\PHP->at(NULL) 
#1 /homepages/36/d234420808/htdocs/mistborn/vendor/s9e/text-formatter/src/Renderer.php(27): s9e\TextFormatter\Renderers\PHP->renderRichText('<r>Spotting a w...') 
#2 /homepages/36/d234420808/htdocs/mistborn/phpbb/textformatter/s9e/renderer.php(250): s9e\TextFormatter\Renderer->render('<r>Spotting a w...') 
#3 /homepages/36/d234420808/htdocs/mistborn/includes/functions_content.php(600): phpbb\textformatter\s9e\renderer->render('<r>Spotting a w...') 
#4 /homepages/36/d234420808/htdocs/mistborn/includes/functions_posting.php(1059) in /homepages/36/d234420808/htdocs/mistborn/vendor/s9e/text-formatter/src/Renderers/PHP.php on line 29
Given the presence of the first words of Bill's post, and that he experienced a strange duplication of the dice when he edited, I suspect that might be related to this problem.
Zath
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:29 pm
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 88 times

Re: PHP Error when posting replies

Post by Zath » Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:14 pm

I'm getting the exact same error message as Sir Jerric as soon as I click on the "Post Reply" or the reply with a quote buttons in the Chapter 1: Homecoming topic.

I'm using Google Chrome Version 73.0.3683.75 on Windows 7, if that helps to know.
Herowannabe
Board Ruler
Board Ruler
Posts: 3174
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 12:17 pm
Has thanked: 358 times
Been thanked: 194 times

Re: PHP Error when posting replies

Post by Herowannabe » Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:08 pm

Uh oh, that’s not good. I just tried and it’s doing the same thing for me.

I’ll send an email to Teclslicer and see if he can fix the issue.
Herowannabe
Board Ruler
Board Ruler
Posts: 3174
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 12:17 pm
Has thanked: 358 times
Been thanked: 194 times

Re: PHP Error when posting replies

Post by Herowannabe » Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:06 am

FYI, Tecslicer emailed me back and said he’ll take a look, but the soonest he’ll be able to do so is Friday
Sir Jerric
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2015 2:08 am
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: PHP Error when posting replies

Post by Sir Jerric » Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:01 am

I suggest you make the thread again, and we'll let Bill copy the text of his post (without the rolls). That will let us move on with the game and saves the broken thread for testing.

We shall have to make a point of not editing a post with rolls and hope that dodges the issue for now.
Herowannabe
Board Ruler
Board Ruler
Posts: 3174
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 12:17 pm
Has thanked: 358 times
Been thanked: 194 times

Re: PHP Error when posting replies

Post by Herowannabe » Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:05 am

Sir Jerric wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:01 am
I suggest you make the thread again, and we'll let Bill copy the text of his post (without the rolls). That will let us move on with the game and saves the broken thread for testing.

We shall have to make a point of not editing a post with rolls and hope that dodges the issue for now.
Good idea. Done.
Tecslicer
Board Ruler
Board Ruler
Posts: 2281
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 12:20 am
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 71 times

Re: PHP Error when posting replies

Post by Tecslicer » Fri Mar 15, 2019 2:47 pm

OK. I've updated the site to the newest minor upgrade, and they say that should solve it...? Let me know if it's still not working right.
These users thanked the author Tecslicer for the post (total 3):
Herowannabe, Zath, Sir Jerric
Post Reply

Return to “Forum Issues”