Switching my OOC color to red, because as long as we're using new colors I might as well help people distinguish between our "voices" at a glance.
I'm not seeing losing a dice or two being justification for losing multiple dice. At worst, I see it as a negative condition. First, it's not a full metalmind; even if "full metalmind" were something that made steelpushes entirely impossible, it's now at best a third of that. We know size of an anchor matters from what Kelsier told Vin, and from what we see from her perspective throughout the books, and from something in the preview chapter of Shadows of Self; giving you the best benefit of the doubt, I've got a minimum of 2/3 of an entire suit of armor to push on, and I think that's enough. Also, "a suit of armor" is not one giant welded piece of metal, and there are many parts not touching your skin, like many of the screws and joints. In point of technical fact, in real life when one would wear armor like this there was a complete layer of padding between you and it because metal chafes like you wouldn't believe, but I had assumed you cut at least a few holes to allow yourself to touch it and use your metalmind. Regardless, there have to be large portions of the armor that aren't touching your skin, certainly more than enough for me to use as an anchor.
For the other topic, I think the Dying Lights rules are silly and punitive. There's absolutely no reason this defensive action should be any different than any other defensive action. Just use your pool per normal, though I'm still not sure how you recalculate a pool you've already spent; surely you should have to recalculate, halve it, and then take a penalty for how many dice you already spent, since they should have come from your new pool? Which is moot in your case since it would only mean a handful more or fewer charges spent, and you're not running out fast enough. ::fist shake::
Also, thank you for defining the stakes, I hadn't been sure how it would go. I thought that if you successfully defended it meant that you somehow didn't go flying at all, but it looks now like you're saying that now that I'm Pushing it's a given that we will fly away from each other. If you win the contest, you get to describe where we each end up. If I win, I get to describe it. Considering this, the ways you described using your speed to influence that seem very reasonable, and my previous objection to you using steel to defend is now withdrawn. Meaning I will lose; shucks.
Lastly, it took me a second to understand you. You're saying I will need four Nudges if I want to do any damage, not just to make the Push happen. Yes, I'm assuming I don't actually hurt you. I think, however, I would have been better served by doing this earlier and finding ways to attack you from range. Something to keep in mind next time my atium Mistborn fights a steelrunner.
EDIT: Oh Cultivation, that first color made my eyes bleed.